Camper Trolley – Caravan Mover Review

camping out

I have written articles about towing in the past, but to be honest it is a topic that often leaves me frustrated especially with tight maneuvering. So for some time I have considered buying a caravan mover and have researched many different models. I was looking for a motorised unit so I discounted any that required even a limited amount of manual labour!

Of all the caravan movers on the market today, nothing grabbed my attention more so than the CamperTrolley by Mover Technology of Denmark. This small, well engineered, self contained unit has the power to move anything up to 1500 kg at about 9 metres per minute – now that’s a nice controllable speed.

At first glance the CamperTrolley doesn’t look able to shift 500 kg let alone 1500 kg, but has this baby got grunt! It is driven by two planetary geared DC motors – one on each side. The motors are powered by a compact on-board 14.4 volt lithium ION battery and drive via two rugged industrial quality rubber tracks.

camper trolley

The fully charged battery provides enough power for up to 30 minutes and is quickly re-charged via the included battery charger or from an innovative solar panel positioned permanently on the top of the unit. Control of the unit is via a ‘simple to operate’ hand-held wireless remote that is matched to your unit (so no driving other camper’s rigs off site in the middle of the night!).

 

I suppose what convinced me most is that the CamperTrolley is portable and relatively light-weight (16 and a bit kilos). No problems with dirt or moisture on your travels unlike other permanently fixed units. It comes with a sturdy travel bag. It also fits to both 100×50 mm and 150x50mm box chassis without any welding or drilling for bolt holes. One quick-fit clamp system and you’re away. The clamp can be safely left permanently attached. The CamperTrolley attaches to the clamp in another easy manner – no bolts, just a flip-pin securing it.

In operation the unit is smooth and steady and direction change is accomplished by stopping one track and running the other via remote – simple!

I took some video of my unit moving our pop-top camper out of the garage, doing a 180 degree turn and then returning to the garage. The quality of the video is not top-notch but it is real world stuff and will give you a good idea of the performance of the CamperTrolley. You also have to remember that I am still learning the ropes, simple though it is! Although the video has been edited down to just over three minutes, I was running the unit around for over 20 minutes and there was no noticeable loss of battery power. The video is available on YouTube or here. Don’t forget to check out the related videos on YouTube (or at the end of this video). There is more CamperTrolley information there.

 

For my money it’s the CamperTrolley. It’s portable, versatile, and when you compare the cost to other movers, value for money. My wife and I like it so much we have even given it a name – “Trevor” – “Trevor the Trolley”!

You can see more information and videos at CamperTrolley Australia

Please Tell Your Friends

Recommended Reading:

41 comments for “Camper Trolley – Caravan Mover Review

  1. October 6, 2010 at 4:26 am

    Where can you buys these caravan movers from? I want to stock this item as ive heard so many positive reviews.

    Is there just one model and how much are they?

    Thanks

  2. October 7, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Paul,

    They are manufactured in Denmark. If you do a Google for CamperTrolley it will take you to their site. Not sure about their distribution network in the UK.
    Here in Australia I paid retail $2500 Australian. I am very pleased with the unit. Best of luck.

    Terry

  3. February 15, 2011 at 4:17 am

    I have also had this unit tried and tested on my swift and it works so well we are now stocking them in the UK and shipping worldwide.

    Check out the leatest reviews, news and discounts.

    Be safe
    Brian

    http://www.caravanmotormovers.net

  4. November 23, 2011 at 1:38 am

    This is by far the best caravan accessories I've seen for solving the old problem of moving your caravan. I have been silly enough to move my caravan by hand for the past 20 years.

    And I wonder why my back is playing up…

    Great product that should be investigated. You can find all relevant info on the camper trolley CT 1500 and the camper trolley CT 2200 Here… http://www.caravan-club.net

  5. Chris Webb
    January 14, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    I bought one and it is brilliant, I have a small yard And it is quite simply a godsend for turning my 16ft Jayco around.
    Oddly enough we also named ours – Thomas (Thomas the tank)

  6. January 19, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    Hi Huys.

    Is anyone able to tell me where I am able to get these from. We are currently looking to stock them and I am so far unable to find a contact. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Many Thanks.

  7. January 21, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    @ Matthew
    I was going to recommend the manufacturer's web site in Denmark but cannot find any trace. I have emailed the distributor here in Australia – maybe he can help.

  8. January 25, 2012 at 9:24 am

    A quick update on this. I spoke with the Australian distributor yesterday and he assures me that all is well with the Camper Trolley and he is still receiving stock. The original company has apparently sold on to a larger Danish company who are obviously in the throes of getting organised. They hope to have a web site presence up soon.

  9. Steve
    February 1, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    Has anyone tried a camper trolley over flat lawn ie.backyard. The surface is quite firm underneath and wondered if it will work on this surface?

  10. February 1, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Steve, it should be no problem. I have seen other videos of it running around on grass. I have even seen it running around sand dunes. I run mine on exposed aggregate concrete so surface firmness is not an issue.

  11. Steve
    February 2, 2012 at 7:53 am

    Thanks for the feedback.

  12. Louise Nolan
    June 15, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Do you ship to the US and what is the total fee if you can?

    Kindest regards,
    L. Nolan

  13. June 16, 2012 at 10:54 am

    Sorry Louise,

    I have nothing to do with sales or marketing. I own a CamperTrolley and simply posted a review on my website. To my knowledge the Camper Trolley is not sold in the USA.

  14. Mrs H Newman
    August 28, 2012 at 7:04 am

    There is an advert in the September caravan club magazine advertising a camper trolley caravan mover.I have been on your web site to try & find prices to no avail, could you please e-mail me some prices & more information as to where I can purchase one of these movers please.

  15. August 28, 2012 at 9:32 am

    Hi,

    I live in Australia and I paid $2500 for mine, new. The only place I can find in the UK that distributes the Camper Trolley is Protec. Try this web site – http://www.caravancovers.org.uk/products.php?section1=6 . They should be able to give you all the info you need. I think they go for around 900 pounds over there. Good luck

  16. Knecht Albert
    September 14, 2012 at 5:46 am

    Was kostet Ihr Camper Trolleder der y inkl. Versandkosten ? Ist Camper-Trolley mit Sonenpanel ?
    Gruss Albert Knecht

  17. September 14, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Ich verkaufe nicht die Camper Trolley. Sie müssen für einen Distributor in Deutschland zu suchen.

    Terry

  18. Waz
    October 2, 2012 at 10:07 am

    These are a great idea, but $2500 it is very overpriced. Only 2 year warranty, so if after 2 years it faults, what you up for another $2500? Forking out that much I would want at least 5 year warranty. I think if someone can come up with something under the $1000 mark, almost every caravan owner would buy one, and that would be a very smart business decision. No doubt someone will soon.

  19. October 8, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Thanks for your comment.
    When you compare the Camper Trolley with other movers it compares quite favourably given that there are no added installation costs (both mechanical and electrical). With some of the alternatives you are looking at $3000 plus with installation. I agree with you about the warranty issue but I have had mine for over two years now with no problems. If something did go wrong, the Australian distributor is well equipped to fix it and you wouldn't be up for another $2500 as you put it. I very much doubt anyone will come up with something around the $1000 mark with a 5 year warranty and capable of shifting 1500 KG up an incline.

    PS I am not involved in the sales or marketing of the Camper Trolley. Only giving my review.

  20. John
    October 12, 2012 at 9:15 am

    I live in NZ, but was in OZ recently, when i read about the Camper Trolley.
    I rang the Importer, & there is a new Model for Twin Axle Vans, due out mid November. the 2500 Model. No agents in NZ yet, but they are in the process of appointing one in Auckland. No price indication either.

  21. October 12, 2012 at 9:32 am

    Thanks John. Apparently the retail on the CT2500 will be in the region of A$3900.
    Terry

  22. Justin
    October 24, 2012 at 1:22 am

    I have the CT 1500 and had it over a year now, I bought it so I could move my 1550 Kg Rapid down the back yard on a 5-7 deg grass slope through a gate then under the eave of the house and push the van back up to the gate after closing. And the machine works quite well absolutely no problem on concrete some traction issues on grass or dirt to be expected all you do to over come the traction issue is to put more weight on the trolly by standing on the A frame and all is good.
    But its not perfect if you pull the van up the grass slope easy, then I have to turn the trolly 90 deg to miss some trees to get the van on the driveway then if your not carefull the weight of the van is pulling on the camper trolly tracks sideways as you move the trolly forward, this makes the tracks come off there natural path and can jam up in the middle of the trolley near the power switch, its just a matter of reversing the unit to clear the problem but it is something to be aware of. Then of course theres the dirt getting between the tracks and the nylon drive cogs that have to be cleaned out so you dont cause further damage. Overall Im happy with the build quality of the mover but the remote control could be a lot less flimsy and cheap looking for the price you pay for the unit.

    Cheers Justin

  23. October 24, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Thanks for your feedback Justin. Just like to add a couple of points here – you may or may not be applying them, I don't know.

    The CT is meant to push a caravan up a slope rather than pull it for two reasons: pushing ensures maximum downward pressure and the CT also acts as a brake. If you are driving down a slope then have the CT on the downward end for the same safety reasons. You will also get more traction if you drive the CT forward, in other words in the direction of the antenna. In my case when I drive my camper up the driveway I position the CT so that the antenna is uppermost end away from me and then drive the CT and camper up the slope. If I were driving down I would still have the CT on the downward end but would orient the CT so that the antenna end was on the lowermost end to me. Each van also has a sweet spot where the CT should be positioned for maximum downward pressure. This is usually a trial and error thing.

    I have been assured that a solution for the track displacement issue is being investigated (I have experienced it too and employ the same resolution as you do).
    Terry

  24. brian
    December 10, 2012 at 9:29 am

    It is sold in the UK by Pro-Tec. Covers Ltd. Bradford

    Email info@proteccovers.com

  25. December 10, 2012 at 11:44 am

    Thanks Brian

  26. Peter Jones
    January 21, 2013 at 4:13 am

    Off topic slightly: what is the music and where can I obtain a copy?

  27. January 29, 2013 at 9:07 am

    Sorry Peter, it was so long ago I have forgotten. It was either a track from music supplied with Adobe Premier, or it was a track selected from YouTube – I suspect the latter because I did swap out the audio. YouTube used to indicate the audio title if it was known, but I can't seem to find it now.

    Thanks for visiting CampersCircle.com

  28. Brian R
    February 28, 2013 at 4:34 am

    This looks like a really great idea. But, unless I missed it, I haven't seen how to get one in the US. Please help. Thanx, BR

  29. February 28, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    Not sure if they're available in the States right now. The manufacturer's web site is http://www.mover-technology.com/en/home/ and they have a Contact Us form to ask them.
    Good luck

  30. Ian Saunders
    April 10, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    Just to share my thoughts on the camper trolley. I have a Conway folding camper, looked at a jockey wheel mover too awkward to move off the trailer,next a motor mover would have been too low on ground clearance . So for the same money along came the trolley a few adjustments to fit the bracket to the A frame. The best thing going easy to use and store away .Happy camping.

  31. Lorraine
    August 3, 2013 at 11:38 am

    Can anyone please provide me with the name of an Australian supplier of the Camper Trolley?

  32. August 3, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    Lorraine, go here for a list of dealers http://www.campertrolley.com.au/dealers/

    Terry

  33. Lorraine
    August 5, 2013 at 10:12 am

    Terry, thank you very much. Lorraine

  34. DAVID NYE
    August 20, 2013 at 6:24 am

    I AM AN OFFICIAL REP FOR THE CAMPER TROLLEY IN THE UNITED STATES. MOVER TECHNOLOGY APS, DENMARK IS IN PROGRESS OF ADDING MY INFO TO ITS WEB PAGE. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO PURCHASE OR GET INFO ABOUT THE CAMPER TROLLEY IN THE STATES, CONTACT THE FOLLOWING EMAIL ADDRESS – davenye12@gmail.com.
    WATCH FOR NEW U.S.A. WEB PAGE COMING THIS WINTER…
    ROBOTIC TRAILER MOVER, MOVER TECHNOLOGY U.S.A.

  35. minako
    August 28, 2013 at 11:12 am

    Hello
    my name is minako
    from tokyo japan
    I purchased Camper Trolley – CT2500.
    It is a question.
    How much is the distance which Remote control reaches?
    It can be operated here only to 50 cm.
    fuii charge of a main part and the remote control is carried out.
    someone — a reply — I am waiting.

  36. August 28, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Hello Minako,

    I am not a dealer for the CT2500 so I suggest you contact your dealer regarding technical issues. For your interest, my remote operates fine from a distance of about 10 metres. I haven't tested it further than that. If you are only getting half a metre then something is wrong somewhere. Have you replaced the batteries in the remote – that would be my first option.

    Regards

    Terry

  37. Arvind
    October 2, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    Hi Terry.

    Any idea if there is an agent for Camper Trolley in New-Zealand yet?

  38. Pat
    October 12, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    I have a campground in Canada which I have a lot of trees my ground is all sand and have hills. Will this work on this kind of ground and most of my campers are 30 feet and over for length
    Thx

  39. October 13, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Pat,

    All your questions should be answered from this link http://www.mover-technology.com/ Top left you can translate to English. I am not a dealer or distributor – just wrote the review after buying mine.

    Terry

  40. DEREK PHILLIPS
    December 1, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    What has happened to the Camper Trolley?. I wish to buy one but have been told they are not now available. Have they been discontinued and if so why.

  41. December 1, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    I don't know who would have told you that Derek. All you have to do is Google Camper Trolley or read through the other comments here.

    Terry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *